University Communications Planning Guide & Channels Matrix

Communications Planning Guide

This planning guide has been developed by communications professionals from multiple schools and divisions across Tufts. It is intended as a framework to assist anyone engaged in communications at the university–including faculty, staff, students and administrators from schools, institutes, centers and departments–in the development of communications plans for their individual units and programs.

Download the University Communications Planning Guide.

Communications Channels Matrix

The accompanying channels matrix includes the major online, print and in-person communications channels currently available to reach Tufts’ constituencies.  The matrix maps each channel to its primary and secondary audiences and includes lead times and contacts for each.

Download the Communications Channels Matrix.

School and Division Communications Leads

In developing their local communications plans, individuals and departments should coordinate with the communications lead within their school or division who can provide guidance on how university-wide strategic priorities and messages are expressed at the school and department levels.  Below is a list of communications leads at each school and division.

School/Division Lead Role Email
Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine Lorraine Daignault Marketing Director Lorraine.Daignault@tufts.edu
The Fletcher School Jessica Smith Director, Public Relations & Communications Jessica.Smith@tufts.edu
Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy Patrick Connell Director of Web, Communications and eLearning Patrick.Connell@tufts.edu
Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging Deb Dutcher Communications Specialist Deborah.Dutcher@tufts.edu
School of Arts and Sciences Heidi Brown Director of Communications Heidi Brown@tufts.edu
School of Dental Medicine Michael Chin Web Content Specialist Michael.Chin@tufts.edu
School of Dental Medicine Emma Johnson Communications Coordinator Emma.Johnson@tufts.edu
School of Engineering Julia Keller Director of Communications J.Keller@tufts.edu
School of Medicine; Sackler School Claire Vail Manager, Web Communications & IT Projects Claire.Vail@tufts.edu
School of Medicine; Sackler School Kim Huse Communications Specialist Kimberly.Huse@tufts.edu
Tisch College Sarah Shugars Communications Manager Sarah.Shugars@tufts.edu
University Advancement Dave Nuscher Senior Director, Strategic Marketing Dave.Nuscher@tufts.edu
University Advancement Christine Sanni Executive Director Christine.Sanni@tufts.edu
University Relations Jean Ayers Director, Digital Communications Jean.Ayers@tufts.edu
University Relations Karen Bailey Editorial Director, News Publications Karen.Bailey@tufts.edu
University Relations Lisa Gregory Director, Marketing Communications Lisa.Gregory@tufts.edu
University Relations Kim Thurler Director, Public Relations Kim.Thurler@tufts.edu