Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

The University Relations division, led by Senior Vice President and General Counsel Mary Jeka, comprises departments that serve the entire university community and act as a liaison to our host communities and to the general public. The University Relations division strengthens and protects Tufts’ reputation by managing the university’s legal interests, ensuring its commitment to equal opportunity, and fostering positive relationships with government and our host communities.

The three arms of the division are the Office of Community and Government Relations, the Office of Equal Opportunity, and the Office of University Counsel.

The Office of University Counsel coordinates the delivery of all legal services on behalf of Tufts University, providing support to university personnel on a broad range of matters and coordinating the selection and supervision of outside counsel for matters requiring additional expertise.

The Office of Government and Community Relations promotes strong partnerships and interactions between Tufts and members of its host communities, including neighbors, community organizations, municipal government offices, and government officials at the city, state and federal levels.

The Office of Equal Opportunity works to cultivate an environment at Tufts University that is free of discrimination and harassment. This is done through training for faculty, staff, and students. OEO resolves allegations of discrimination and harassment for all members of the Tufts community.